Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Birdman's 'Chivo' Lubezki and Unbroken's Roger Deakins have both won the category three times previously

The cinematography of Birdman, Mr. Turner, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game and Unbroken received nominations in the feature category for the 29th annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards.
Nominees include two of Hollywood's most honored directors of photography, including Birdman cinematographer Emmanuel "Chivo" Lubezki, who has won ASC Awards for The Tree of Life, Children of Men, and last year's winner Gravity, for which he also won an Oscar.
Also, this is the 13th ASC nomination for Unbroken cinematographer Roger Deakins, who previously won for Skyfall, The Man Who Wasn't There and The Shawshank Redemption. He was also the recipient of the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.
This year's nominees include Dick Pope, who photographed Mr Turner, and has one previous ASC nomination for The Illusionist.
Grand Budapest was photographed by Robert Yeoman, a first time ASC nominee whose previous work with director Wes Anderson includes Moonrise Kingdom.
Imitation Game was lensed by another first time nominee, Oscar Faura, whose prior credits include The Impossible.
Absent from the nominations are a few names that are included on numerous Oscar predictions lists, including Interstellar's Hoyte van Hoytema. In the past 10 years, five of the winners of this ASC category went on to win the Oscar in cinematography.
ASC nominees in the TV categories were previously announced.
The awards ceremony will be held Feb. 15 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza.

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Guardians of the Galaxy - Alexandra Byrne
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies - Bob Buck, Lesley Burkes-Harding, Ann Maskrey
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1 - Kurt and Bart
Into the Woods - Colleen Atwood
Maleficent - Anna B. Sheppard, Jane Clive

No comments:

Post a Comment